Down aircraft PA31 Piper Navajo Leesburg Intl

Gadgetman

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Darren
I don't understand ... did the gauge break before the flight, during flight, or what? Was fuel level never checked by visual inspection? HOw do 2 experienced pilots run out of gas? Complacency? I'm a newbie, help me out.

Condolences to the family, real sad story.

"The gas gauge broke..."

So the pilot wasn't double checking the numbers. What a waste of a good plane and human lives.

I don't understand ... did the gauge break before the flight, during flight, or what? Was fuel level never checked by visual inspection? HOw do 2 experienced pilots run out of gas? Complacency? I'm a newbie, help me out.

Condolences to the family, real sad story.

A number of planes, including Navajos, have gas gauges that don't give an accurate or reliable measure of fuel in the tanks. Of the two Navajos I flew, one had very accurate and consistent gauges, the other one you pretty much had to ignore them. Let's assume it was the latter, and they were just that way and would be that way until the end of time.

It's not uncommon for pilots to accept this. I was one of them (of course, I liked getting paid), and you typically pay close attention to the stopwatch, which is pretty consistent, and then that works out well.

Ways of running out of fuel include the following:

1) Fuel was leaking (happens, but rare)
2) Engine was consuming more fuel (poor management, some other kind of fueling problem)
3) "Hoping" you have enough fuel to get there after your flight planning didn't go as planned

Most likely was problem 3. Sometimes you see this more with experienced pilots because they think they can make it and are too lazy/cheap to get fuel elsewhere.

Sometimes you see this more with experienced pilots because they think they can make it and are too lazy/cheap to get fuel elsewhere.