Does this sound right?

integra144

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
integra144
Wow! After reading this site and others like it I think being a pilot is actually plausible, but expensive. So this is what I have interpreted from reading this site. You don’t need a degree in aviation. Mainly I am majoring accounting as my parents want. So even if I graduate with an accounting degree, what I really need is flight hours. So if I start raking up flight hours at a local flight school; I can get hired by a smaller regional airline and begin to make my way up the chain? And mainly no one graduates from Flying College and start flying it kind of different then most carrier’s fields? Also I searched everywhere is there a height requirement I’m 5ft 6 inches 139Lbs and male. At the airport the pilots always appear to be at least 6ft. I only been in a cockpit of a commercial plane once I think it was a 757, but I was like 5 and now after 9/11 no one can be in there expect those authorized. Am I tall enough to reach the rudders?

Also should I get an aviation science degree? Bridgewater State College, http://www.bridgew.edu/Catalog/avi.pdf the link goes to a PDF section of the catalog or should I just go to Embry Riddle in Florida, Daniel Webster? And skip the complete accounting and do the Aviation which they offer? Is it really worth it or at the end of the day just get my Accounting degree and got to Executive Flyers Aviation at Hanscom (http://www.executiveflyers.com/index.php) ? Also anyone have anyone reviews about that flight school I mentioned?. They estimate a total cost of $30,000 for Private, Instrument and Commercial. Not sure if multi engine is included though.

p.s. my dream/goal is to fly a 757 flights say from JFK to LAX or BOS to SFO. Hopefully

Thanks a billion. These site are my only source of info as my parents do nothing in this field (accounting and engineering) and they think im nuts.

Last edited: