Do I Need to let the radios warm up? (Newb Question)

pilotmattk

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
pilotmattk
Is it standard practice to let your radios warm up in the winter? I'm still in my first year of flying and last Saturday was the first time I jumped in a plane, first thing, after it had sat outside in a sub 40 degree night. I did my standard checks, ran up, and everything was good, but after I got in the air the radios were real finicky for about 15-20min. I had to keep switching between them to make/recive calls out of class C. After about 20 min or less of use, they acted fine and I made it 3 more legs to pick up/ drop off family to and from the Blue Angels show at Muskogee without issue.

I asked a flight instructor and he acted like it was somewhat normal, I but wanted to double check here. Maybe someone has a tip or 2. I don't want to burn 15 min on the ground while still renting!

Thanks,
Matt K.

condensation in the radio and/or radio tray and/or antenna connections is my swag

if it were my plane i'd clean, or have cleaned, the contacts and connectors

All electronics have a "temperature operating range" for normal use specified in the manual. While a preheated engine may be running and its parameters operating normally with regard to temperature, I don't think I'd depart with avionics still in the ice-cold end of the spectrum.

Many have ranges down to -50c and as high as +70c. While the equipment may handle that range, you most likely will not. The G1000 suggest a few minutes warm up. Typically, by the time you're done with run-up, the equipment will be close enough to center of range.

However, if your radio is still using nixie tubes... :)

Although it's probably not an option on a rental, pre-heating the cockpit, in addition to the engine, is not a bad idea.