DME arcs - why the bad rap?

I said, "Magenta lines kill pilots."

I'm not against them and never speak against the tools.

Umm... Yes you do. Right there.

Magenta lines don't kill pilots. Pilots kill pilots. Magenta lines kill threads. :rolleyes: :rofl:

But, I was hardly ever allowed to use them while working on my IR, and I think that forced me to develop a better sense of situational awareness. And my CFII would not let me just get vectored around, he'd make me tell him where I was, at any and all times. You can keep that mental picture very easily while getting vectored by using a single VOR and DME, or even fairly easily using two VOR's.
And, that works wonderfully. It's much easier than many think. The DPE who did my CFI initial ride said something to me I'll never forget....

"I've been using moving maps for thirty-five years. As I fly, my finger moves along the course on my map."

It works!

Without that skill, one is going to get lost a lot easier. One of the things I've done in the sim with students is place them somewhere within thirty miles of a single VOR with all others disabled. They have to identify it, determine their location then use it to fly to an airport. They get a single Nav receiver with no DME nor GPS. I don't make fuel an issue during that exercise but do explain how fuel management plays into such a scenario.

Umm... Yes you do. Right there.

Magenta lines don't kill pilots. Pilots kill pilots. Magenta lines kill threads. :rolleyes: :rofl:
It was before the Internet, but I'm sure somewhere there was a discussion, perhaps even an editorial or letter to the editor, about how "bearings kill pilots" and that pilots should simply not be allowed to use their newfangled ADF without a solid grounding in radio range navigation.

And even before writing existed, there was probably some discussion about "wheels kill people."

He's from New Mexico and will be making trips to Austin every week the next year.