DFW Pilots - Question from a Rookie Pilot

MBDiagMan

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Doc
I am a brand new Private Pilot with over 500 landings. Probably 490 of those landings have been at uncontrolled airports. I recently started venturing into North Texas Regional (Perrin AFB ) which is Class D airspace.

I flub up every communication with them in some way, but they are very accommodating and very patient.

I really need to fly to Grand Prairie (KGPM) in the next few days, and an alternate won't really do given that my 86 year old Mom will pick me up at the airport and would not be able to find Lancaster or any other place in the area.

SO.. How buisy is this airport? How accommodating of a rookie are they at this airport?

Thanks very much for sharing your experience.

I am a brand new Private Pilot with over 500 landings. Probably 490 of those landings have been at uncontrolled airports. I recently started venturing into North Texas Regional (Perrin AFB ) which is Class D airspace.

I flub up every communication with them in some way, but they are very accommodating and very patient.

I really need to fly to Grand Prairie (KGPM) in the next few days, and an alternate won't really do given that my 86 year old Mom will pick me up at the airport and would not be able to find Lancaster or any other place in the area.

SO.. How buisy is this airport? How accommodating of a rookie are they at this airport?

What exactly are you "flubbing"?

yup doc, so far you have 'flubbed' this communication - you didn't give us enough information...

OK all levity aside - it is not possible to flub your communication with the airport - use plain english and forget about trying to sound like the Captain of a 777 like your CFI tried to pound into you ( a frustrated wannabe captain)..

When within the airport approach control area simply call approach control and when they acknowledge you, tell them where you are and say you are inbound and landing to pick up a passenger...