Deferred Class 3 Medical

R

Ramsey

Hey All,

I wanted to ask you all for some advice. I'm a rusty pilot who's getting back into the game. I received my first medical in 2004 and passed my check ride for my PPL. However, due to the change in times and my career, I fell out of flying in 2006. The only thing that has changed in the past 15 years has been the addition of an SSRI (Zoloft) to help manage some mild anxiety.

I just had my new medical done today with my AME, and he advised me that at this time my medical will be deferred. He's a pilot himself and was very helpful in advising me of my options, which are 1) quit taking the meds or 2) file for an SI. The thing here is that my medication helps me with my day-to-day work. I'm a financial analyst and sometimes this role can be a bit harsh to manage, but it's nothing that I can't control. I don't have a history of suicidal thoughts or long bouts of depression. My main issues are OCD/OCPD and generalized anxiety. I would really like to maintain the medication as it's proved to be very helpful. I've been on it for more than a year and on this current dosage for more than 6 months. My primary psych doctor is board certified and I check in with him every 3 months. I also have another board-certified physiatrist that I see each month, but it's just to maintain a healthy headspace and manage stress. I know the easy step would be to stop the meds, get approval from my primary doctor and AME, but what happens if I feel I need to be back on the medication after this? Or should I try the long-drawn-out process of attempting to get an SI?

Any thoughts?

<Not a doctor>