Dang, I'm an Internet Surgeon!

Last night I whacked my thumbnail good with a hammer. Have not slept a wink one, all night. About 4am, I started running plans through my head, driving to the local hospital - probably a $2000.00 deal with them (under my deductible) - driving 3 hours to the nearest city hospital, arranging an 'accident' with the miter saw, then I found the suggestion on emedicine (it didn't work for me last time 5yrs ago) and gave it another go. No paperclips but I did have lots of 040 ss safety wire around and it gets red hot with my plumber's torch so I seared away. Finally a squirt of blood came out through the hole I made and the pain is reduced to that of a Japanese torture camp (the hydrocodone is helping no doubt too).
So today I am 'LetsNotGoFlying!'
I'll keep you posted on the ensuing lymphangitis or gangrene! Pictures anyone?!
OOOOOOOUUUUUUCCCCCCHHHHHHHH! I am such an idiot with tools!

Let'sgoflying! said:
Last night I whacked my thumbnail good with a hammer. ....... I am such an idiot with tools!

On the other hand, you've saved yourself a whole bunch of money that can be used for flying :yes:

Let'sgoflying! said:
I'll keep you posted on the ensuing lymphangitis or gangrene! Pictures anyone?!OOOOOOOUUUUUUCCCCCCHHHHHHHH! I am such an idiot with tools!
Dave, you're a Vet and you know about wound care. Don't let the open entry to the culture media get infected.....

I am 95% better today... last time I 'toughed it out' for 4 sleepless nights before going to the hospital. Another week to heal.
I did another penetration of the nail after my last post... it was still hurting a fair bit near the base. A LOT of the red stuff came out and the pain subsided markedly in 6 hours.