DA40 with g1000 or C182 with steam gauges for IR

Wild Turkey

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Wild Turkey
Hello all,

Long time reader, first time poster. I'm a recently minted PP with about 110 hrs, all in C172s. I'm thinking of joining a flying club with an older C182 with a Garmin 430 and a DA40 with a G1000. I'm planning on getting my IR and was wondering if the forum had any advice on whether it would be better to do this with.

Would it be better to learn with the steam gauges so I'm comfortable with flying ifr without the G1000, then transitioning, or vice versa. If I learn on the G1000, will I be less comfortable without it?

Thanks for your advice on this. I read posts on here since I was a student and have learned a lot.

which plane do you anticipate flying most after your training is complete? If you know, my advice is to train in that one.
Hello all,

Long time reader, first time poster. I'm a recently minted PP with about 110 hrs, all in C172s. I'm thinking of joining a flying club with an older C182 with a Garmin 430 and a DA40 with a G1000. I'm planning on getting my IR and was wondering if the forum had any advice on whether it would be better to do this with.

Would it be better to learn with the steam gauges so I'm comfortable with flying ifr without the G1000, then transitioning, or vice versa. If I learn on the G1000, will I be less comfortable without it?

Thanks for your advice on this. I read posts on here since I was a student and have learned a lot.

I would say that if you ever plan to fly IFR in the steam-gauge 182, to get your IR in the 182. Once you have your IR on the steam gauges and are proficient with the G430, the transition to the Diamond and the G1000 will be very quick.