DA40 & Piper Arrow vs. C172 and Cherokee

hnl.flyboy

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
hnl.flyboy
I'm a Private Pilot. Got my cert in 2006 when UND had a satellite campus with Honolulu Community College, and left because of a lack of money. I now have ~125 hours, about evenly split between the Warrior III and various C172 models. I'm back in school at HCC with the GI Bill, UND is gone, and I'll be flying a DA40 and a Piper Arrow.

Last time I flew PIC was early April, and I had maybe an hour in a Samba XXL motor glider with a friend where he let me fly most of the time...so I guess you can say I'm rusty. That being said, how hard would it be to transition to the DA40? It should be easier as it's been a while having any stick time, so I should pick up DA40 habits soon enough.. but what can I expect on my first flight? I'm mostly interested in how it handles, as I can figure out the G1000 as I go along.

Haven't flown the DA40 so I can't comment. I'm sure Kent will be along to comment though.

I would comment that you should probably get some kind of G1000 training before you fly rather than figuring it out.

DA40 is one of the best handling airplanes I've ever flown (defiantly the best handling 4 seater I've ever flown). Controls are light and precise.

As long as you familiarize yourself with the G1000 the transition should not be difficult. Also familiarize yourself with the constant speed prop.

Let me know if you want to know anything specific.

BTW is it a DA40-180 or the NG?

Last edited:
DA 40 is an incredibly benign aircraft. Haul back on the stick at 1400 rpm and it'll bob and weave but it won't drop a wing. To get it to spin you have to BOOT it over.

Not quite so sedate in a power on stall, but wow.

Arrows are dogs. If you're going to buy a CS prop retract for personal use, get a Mooney.