CSEL Training Requirements

GM404

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
GM404
Greetings All...

I am a 600 TT private pilot that will be "going back to school" to get my IR and CSEL..eventually the CFI/II as well. I am wanting to do it all by part 61 and am a bit confused on the requirements. Long story short, I know I need 20 hours of dual for commercial/instrument operations for the CSEL. Where I am confused is the aeronautical experience part. I have plenty of night landings at a controlled airport and lots of XC time (most trips being in excessive of 500 NM day and night). I read the reg and it looks like I would have to *re-do* these XC flights once I am "in training".

What I would like to do is; get the dual I need for the IR and count 10 hours of that towards the CSEL. Then, with the remaining 10 hours, get the complex time that I need. I am good on commercial maneuvers, so I am just trying to figure out how I can knock out these ratings for the least amount of hours and $$$. And no, I am not looking to meet the "minimums" and "just pass a checkride"...I don't want to get stuck in some pseudo part 141 training where I have to log 50 hours to get experience I already have.

Thanks for your input!

If they are logged properly, you don't have to redo them. It isn't like 1 particular day you start your comm training. You could get your complex time in right after private if you wanted.

If they are logged properly, you don't have to redo them. It isn't like 1 particular day you start your comm training. You could get your complex time in right after private if you wanted.

That's good to hear. I thought that's how it might have worked, but it's been a number of years since I have dug in Pt 61 to see what's changed. So I could really do 10 hours of complex and be good to go? (in theory, anyway).