CS prop and engine out procedure?

mchesney

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Mike
Let me preface this by informing you that I'm a relatively new pilot and under 100 hrs. I recently bought into a shared ownership of a '70 177b... Love the plane! It has a CS prop which I'm getting comfortable with but was wondering what the best position would be for an engine out forced landing. The checklist and poh do not address this that I have found.

My instructor said that at least on 200 hp Lycoming there's a gas accumulator that creates fake oil pressure just in such a case.

Edit: I went to look in section 4 of actual manual and it says: "At best gliding angle, with the engine windmilling, and the propeller control in full "decrease RPM," the aircraft will travel approximately 1.6 miles for each thousand feet of altitude". So the good people at Vero Beach seem to presume that windmilling creates enough oil pressure.

Last edited:
I doubt you can adjust it if the engine is out.
Sure you can if a loss of oil wasn't the cause of the failure. At least that's the case in my 182. Engine out, prop windmilling, (for real, not pretend, BTDT), pull the prop and it's like getting kicked in the butt.

I'm not sure how the mechanics of it work (whether you'd be able to adjust it slowly with whatever you get out of the windmilling?), but assuming you could, I would think you'd want to adjust it to be in a low RPM setting. That positions the blades so they are more aligned with the airflow, meaning that there will be less drag.

I just got checked out in a 172 with what I've been told is an aggressive cruise prop, and that thing floats like none other. There aren't any other differences between it and any other 172 that I know of, so I assume (and the CFI tells me) that it's the prop.