Cross Country IFR training flight

Luvrv8

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
KCMA flyer
I am currently a IFR student and did my cross country flight today, I am a bit tired. Some background, I own a 172/a and training with it. I have twin 155 radios, DME and not much else. I have a freelance CFII that is currently a chief pilot for a corporate that flys a GV mostly international. Since he does not need my time or money I strive hard not to disappoint him. I am his only student if you don't count the 92 year old WWII vet with a distingushed flying cross. As you can guess he is not training him much just keeping him in the air safely.

The day started out at Camarillo, KCMA with a tower enroute to Riverside, KRAL. My read back was correct and off we go. Somewhere over KVNY I was vectored off of V186 to 20 degrees right. After 10 minuets ATC tells me to rejoin V186 but gives me no vectors. I was able to figure it out without my CFII having to help. So now for the approach to KRAL. I was expecting and ask for the VOR B to 27. I am told this is not available and was offered the ILS 09 with circle to 27. Don't ask me how but I figured it out thanks to foreflight and get us on the ground. That flight was 1 hour.

Ready to depart Riverside to Snta Maria,KSMX and ask for tower enroute. Was told that was not available from Riverside. I shut down the plane, get out the chart and start typing away on foreflight and file. 15 minuets later tower tells me I am ready for a ILS release. While airborne my CFII takes my iPad away and tells me everything I need is in front of me. Getting close to Santa Maria I ask for the back coarse to runway 30. Not much problem here but getting close to the missed, .5 on the DME I was thinking he was going to make me do a missed with a hold, at .6 I was told take off the hood runway in sight.