Cost of Repairs to sitting 182

Chad Vancil

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Chad Vancil
Hi everyone, I’m a student pilot currently training in a 172.
Through a friend I stumbled on a 182 that has been sitting for 18 years. The engine was pulled, fully refurbished then created (18 years ago). Wings are off and no fluids are in the plane and all been kept in a hanger. All logs are present. My question is and I know it’s tough, how much (ballpark) do you think it would cost to get it back in the sky? I know a few ADs have come out, a big one being the seat track. Any inside info would be appreciated. I still have a few months to get my PPL and looking to get my first plane. Thanks

I think you meant to write that the engine was "crated"? I guessing it wasn't run, so there is a better chance of it being in good condition than if it sat on the plane for 18 years. My opinion that is the costly part but I'm no A&P.

EDIT: See Nate's response below.

Sitting where?
Engine crated and pickled or just crated?
Avionics working, how old?

Just those three questions are tens of thousands of dollars if the answers aren’t good.

Very worthy project.
things to do, replace the fuel tank bladders, strip and paint it while apart, change the glass, prior to new paint.

All new tires and tubes, plus maybe wheels (if it still has the Mccauleys)
new interior the original must stink by now.
Pull all the cylinders, see what condition they are in, they could be perfect, they could be junk, and take a look at the engine interior, engines that were run varnish up, and protect themselves, a new engine that has no varnish, may have huge problems. Then again if it was preserved properly, who knows after 18 years.

but foremost, get your A&P involved day 1
I'm guessing 50k +-