Contract Pilot Question Intn'l Issue

Captain

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
First Officer
So, I'm flying an owner and his friends from the Bahamas to the US. He has a lot of friends and its going to take three trips over two days. I called Customs for inbound clearance and was informed they automatically have to inform the FAA because its so many flights.

I assume the issue is the FAA being suspicious of unauthorized charter. I also assume someone from the local FSDO will be showing up to ask some questions. Anyone have experience with this? I'm being paid, obviously, but I have no knowledge of any payment being made to the aircraft owner.

If it comes up would they be allowed to pay for anything like fuel / fees? Or does the owner have to eat the entire cost?

So, I'm flying an owner and his friends from the Bahamas to the US. He has a lot of friends and its going to take three trips over two days. I called Customs for inbound clearance and was informed they automatically have to inform the FAA because its so many flights.

I assume the issue is the FAA being suspicious of unauthorized charter. I also assume someone from the local FSDO will be showing up to ask some questions. Anyone have experience with this? I'm being paid, obviously, but I have no knowledge of any payment being made to the aircraft owner.

If it comes up would they be allowed to pay for anything like fuel / fees? Or does the owner have to eat the entire cost?

Geez....

Is there anything easy in your life??:dunno::dunno:....:confused:

You hold an ATP and a CFI rating, correct?

You hold an ATP and a CFI rating, correct?

Yup, I've never claimed to have experience with everything though. In 17 years of flying I've never come across this circumstance. Thought maybe others here have.

Last edited:
IMHO....

If you are flying the plane for the owner,,,, and he has alot of friends he needs to reposition....... then you really don't have any issues...:confused: