Complicated medical history due to major misdiagnosis. SI possible?

T

Throwaway

Hello, I am considering trying to obtain my private pilots license, which would require me to hold a third class medical certificate. However, I’ve got a bit of a complicated situation and I want to know if there’s possibly a path forward before I waste my time.

The first issue occurred over 20 years ago. When I was a high school student. I mentioned to my family physician that I was a little stressed over school work and a recent break up with a girlfriend. My well-meaning, but misguided, physician decided to prescribe me this new wonder drug called Prozac. Unfortunately, as is often the case with adolescence, it had the opposite effect on me and made things much worse. It even caused me to attempt suicide which led to a three day hospital stay. After discontinuing the medication I had no further mental health issues. I was horrified at what I had done, to this day I still am ashamed whatever I think about this—especially the look on my parents faces. So that’s one issue that is going to have to be worked through.

The next issue is a bit more complicated.

In 2009 while living overseas I was sitting in a restaurant with all the sudden my heart rate shot up and I had a feeling of doom. I was immediately taken to the emergency room where my heart rate was resting at about 150 and spiking to 240. All tests at the emergency room were mostly normal, besides the elevated heart rate, so I was advised to consult with a cardiologist. In the next few days my health declined and I developed vertigo, tinnitus, weakness on the left side, double vision and neuropathy etc.