communicating with the airport

stapler101

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
stapler101
As a new pilot I don't suffer "mic fright" but I am overwhelmed by the many different contact options.
Can someone point me to reading material that helps me understand when to contact the tower vs. ground control vs. delivery etc.

thanks

As a new pilot I don't suffer "mic fright" but I am overwhelmed by the many different contact options.
Can someone point me to reading material that helps me understand when to contact the tower vs. ground control vs. delivery etc.

thanks

Do you have a pretty good handle on Chapters 3, 4 & 5 of the AIM?

Trapper John

Find some Class D and Class C airport towers on LiveATC.net and listen to those as well. You can repeat some of the pilot calls and eventually they'll become pretty comfortable to you. When you get back to real thing, you may still be a little nervous but don't let it stop you from trying.

Most controllers are pretty good about the stumbles. Don't let the speed intimidate you. Say it at your pace. Be patient with yourself while learning. Don't force yourself to speak faster than you're ready to. Controllers would rather know they heard you correctly than try to interpret something badly tongue-tied. As time goes on, the communication and terms will become more comfortable and you'll feel more natural at it.

Keep in mind, there are professional pilots out there who still stumble on occasion. No one's perfect all the time. Even the best among them stumble now and then. Just do what you're capable of and relax.

As for the software and books, I can't say anything about them as I've never used them nor known anyone who did. I have heard good things about the software so that may very well be an option for you if expense isn't an issue. Either way, add to that with immersion into the real thing either as a passive listener or during your actual operations. You'll get there with some patience.

Thanks for the replies.