Commercial written

flyersfan31

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Freiburgfan31
I'm studying for the Comm test. I'm pleased to see that the FAA is testing the latest and greatest, most relevant information out there.

To whit, there are 14 questions in the test bank about the ADF. That's the biggest block of questions in that section, fewer for VOR and the redoubtable RMI, a couple on the HSI -- which actually IS a relevant subject, and none about GPS.

Let me get this straight - the FAA is retiring ADFs as fast as they can pull the plugs, yet it is apparently the most important bit of info in the navigation instruments section. :dunno:

So, why no questions about navigating with radio ranges, hmmm? If we are going to emphasize outdated technology, why stop with ADF?

Cuz few people with GPSs understands ADFs anymore. At least thats what I get from it!

Last edited:
Cuz nobody with GPSs understands ADFs anymore. At least thats what I get from it!
And they need to why?
(That said, one of the planes we were looking at for a partnership had an ADF & DME, but a VFR-only GPS. So for practical purposes ,i.e. "legal",, it had no GPS; just as if you only had a handheld.)

Last edited:
I felt the same way when I was studying for the AGI and IGI writtens. Luckily I only had around 2 ADF questions total on the actual exams, but boy does that stuff make your head spin sometimes! When I was studying with the Gleim test prep books, there were only 2 or 3 questions directly related to the operation of a GPS, but I sort of expected the FAA to be around 10 to 15 years behind anyway. :redface:

Surprisingly enough, my dad is required to demonstrate at least one NDB approach on his biannual checkrides at FlightSafety in the Citation simulator. I think he has it down to a science now since the FAA always has him shoot the same approach. :)

A few suggestions I'd make to help study and later take the Commercial knowledge test would be...