Commercial Requirements

jimbtv

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Jim
I have around 430 hours PIC and my instrument rating. I am now studying for my commercial written test and have reviewed the requirements under FAR 61.129. This section of the regs reads more like a laundry list of required times and tasks, of which I have accomplished all except "(v) 3 hours in a single-engine airplane in preparation for the practical test within the 60-day period preceding the date of the test."

An instructor's endorsement is required before I can schedule a checkride but I don't see any specific requirements for formal instructor training. Of course no instructor is going to provide an endorsement without first having me demonstrate my skills. Let's imagine for a moment that I were to show up for my first scheduled time with the instructor, fully accomplished in all of the required knowledge and flight procedures and I demonstrated that to the instructor's satisfaction, would that be all that is required? Is there really no official "x - hours with an instructor" clause?

Jim

Last edited:
I think you need to go back and re-read paragraph (a)(3) of that section (61.129), which requires 20 hours of training with an instructor in specific areas. Of course, the 10 hours of instrument training is covered by your Instrument rating training, but you also must have 10 hours of training in a complex plane and two dual XC's of 2 hours each (one day, one night) in addition to the 3 hours of dedicated test prep (all of which may be combined, say, by doing your IR training or XC's in a complex plane, as long as it all adds up to 20).