Cold Medicine

Palmpilot

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Richard Palm
I don't take cold medicine when I fly, but as a musician, I sometimes feel the need for rehearsals or concerts. The ones I've seen in drug stores lately seem to throw in everything but the kitchen sink, in an effort to deal with every possible symptom that a person might have. Are there any non-prescription medicines available that just deal with sniffles and sneezing, and leave out all the other stuff?

Yes, you need to look carefully. You can find JUST pseudoepinephrine (decongestant) or JUST antihistamine (benadryl, claritin) in most drug stores. Don't be shy about asking the pharmacist.

I'm like you, if all I've got is a stuffy head, I just want plain old Sudafed, no cough supressant, no expectorant, no fever reducer, etc.

Yes, you need to look carefully. You can find JUST pseudoepinephrine (decongestant)
He meant pseudoephedrine.....
or JUST antihistamine (benadryl, claritin) in most drug stores. Don't be shy about asking the pharmacist.
Allegra-d is what you want. Nondrowsy, permitted by FAA, and 24 hour tabs are common, and are about $.75 per day.
I'm like you, if all I've got is a stuffy head, I just want plain old Sudafed, no cough supressant, no expectorant, no fever reducer, etc.

Thanks guys. Another question: The purpose of a decongestant sounds clear enough, but what does an antihistamine do?

An antihistamine is a drug which inhibits the itchy sensations, runny nose and watery eyes typical of an allergic reaction. Many also induce drowsiness, for example, diphenhydramine (Benadryl) or cetirizine (Zyrtec).

Dr. Bruce, any opinions on loratadine (Claritin) vs Allegra? Supposedly it is OK and is available OTC unlike Allegra.