Cockpit Cosmetics

SbestCFII

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
CFII Scott - The IFR Coach
I have been upgrading the interior look of "the Duck" for a couple of years, starting with a new Airtex Interior (which was of much better quality than the original piper materials), new belts, panel lighting and such. My pilot's yoke had been "badly" painted before I bought the plan, so this year I bought some Leather yoke covers and installed then while my last instrument student was taking his oral test during checkride. I got them from Warren Gregoire and the material was great and the installation was straightforward. The only issue I had with the covers was a minor workmanship issue. The covers are applied using velcro (not an issue, since it works well), but when I started opening the velcro it bagan seperating fron whwere it had been "GLUED" to the leather. I didn't expect that for >$300 for less than a square foot of leather. However, I took there to a nice shop and had them professional stitch to the leather and it worked out quite well. Especially with the new Piper medallions.

Now mulling over a replacment for the #2 radio (KX-155). I was looking at a replacement display buttons and bezel from BK on a radio that functions flawlessly, versus waiting for the promised but still not delivered MX-155 (which would add a 2nd glideslope) vs. buying an over-priced new Nav/Com radio.

Looking for suggestions.

Attachments

• Yoke Covers 2018.png
    Yoke Covers 2018.png
    511.5 KB · Views: 118
Last edited:
Never liked the look of them on the pipers. I honestly I think they look about like swap meet chrome stripping on a POS ghetto car. Sorry,but unlike McDonalds, I’m not luvin it.

Do you currently do not have a GS indicator? The indicators are not cheap and with ILSs being unplugged daily I would not put my money there.