Cockpit comfort

DaleB

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
DaleB
Hi folks....

While I'm a student pilot and flying a club airplane right now, I'm aiming toward eventually owning either as a sole owner or in a partnership. One of the things I am looking at is cabin comfort for longer X/C trips. These would typically be done with my wife, and we're used to driving in vehicles ranging from pretty comfortable (Fusion hybrid) to downright decadent (new F150 super crew), with an occasional long ride on the "road sofa", a Harley Ultra Classic with a nice seat, thrown in. In short -- she can put up with about anything, but I'd like to make things as comfortable as possible so we can fly more and drive less.

So I'm looking at cabin dimensions. I got curious because I've heard Mooneys are cramped, but then read something about them having a wider cabin than a 182. I found a good pile of data at planeandpilotmag.com and did some figuring. Using some of the candidate airplanes I've been looking at for comparison, here's what I found, along with my thoughts:

C177: 48 x 46.5. Comfy, nice looking, not particularly speedy.
C182: 45W x 46H. Big, fast, expensive.
Sundowner: 44W x 48H. Comfy, but it's going to be a long trip.
M201: 43.5W x 44.5H. Fast, sexy, just pack very small bags.
RV-7/9: 43W x 42H. I hadn't considered E/AB before, but... hmmm.
C172: 39.5W x 48H. Neither fast nor comfortable, but available.
AA5B: 40W x 45H. About Cherokee sized, but faster.
PA-28: 40W x 44H. It'll get you there, just sweaty.

Of these, I have flown the PA-28 and the 172. I'm not a small guy by anyone's definition. Both are what I would consider cramped for shoulder room, though the 172 actually feels a little less so for some reason. I still find myself flying with my left arm pinned to my side. After a couple of hours that gets a little old.