Classroom Ground School?

mjburian

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Marty
I'm a student pilot with 25.5 hours right now (already soloed and did my first dual cross country last weekend). I have read a number of books (Rod Machado's Private Pilot, Airplane Flying Handbook, Pilot's Handbook of Aeronautical Knowledge) and watched the Sporty's DVDs. All of this in addition to the ground school received from my instructor.

The question is, should I also attend a classroom ground school (offered by an FBO near my home)? Part of me thinks that I could pass the written right now (based on getting 80s and 90s on online practice tests). But another part of me feels like I can never know too much.

Additionally, my training is done strictly on a one-on-one basis. My instructor thinks the class might be worth it just because I'll have some exposure to other pilots and student pilots, and might get to do some "hangar flying". For the most part, the only pilot I know (and talk to regularly) is my instructor.

What are your thoughts?

You sound pretty well prepared. Have you taken a sample test yet?

truthfully I have gotten great information form the sources you mentioned plus listening to good folks here and in my EAA chapter. I took ground school ages ago when we did not have all the DVDs, CDs, Internet, etc. it helped then, but I have not een any reason to take it for any of my other rating.

If you want to do some hanger flying join the EAA (strongly recommended), or just hang out at the airport (a little airport, not a big one m'kay? Otherwise the rent-a-cops will taser you to death).

If you take a practice test and feel a little shaky, then a ground school might be worth while, otherwise it will probably be pretty boring, like that class on Gender Studies you had to take to satisfy an Distribution requirement.

~ Christopher