Class Charlie satellite communications

lancie00

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
lancie00
I'm a low hour VFR pilot who's been out of flying for a while. I'm getting back into it and have a satellite airport under class c airspace that I'd like to fly into/out of (Council Bluffs, Iowa kcbf). What I'd like to know is, will the class c controller (Omaha approach) tell me to change frequency to unicom when I get close to the Council Bluffs airport? Then do I announce on Unicom "CB traffic, Arrow 5142S 2 mile final on 18 CB"?

I'm also wondering about departing. I assume I announce departing on unicom, then who do I contact once in the air? Omaha approach or departure?

Thanks for the input!

IFR or VFR they usually give you the frequency change early enough but if they don't you can always ask. VFR I'm not sure why you're flying 2 mile straight ins (yes I know it's legal, but still).

Approach and Departure are usually two names for the same controller. You'll see that in your AF/D entry for CBF they are both 124.5. It really doesn't matter which you call them. Generally, I only use the word "departure" when I'm departing from the primary, but it really matters little.

When you get close call the airport in sight,the controller will have you quack VFR ,and have you go to the ctaf. When departing don't enter the class c untill you notify the controller. You can stay under the shelf VFR.

If you're under the C floor you wouldn't have to call them at all. I fly into and out of a non-towered field under a Class C area and we never talk to approach.

If you're under the C floor you wouldn't have to call them at all. I fly into and out of a non-towered field under a Class C area and we never talk to approach.

True, but that's kinda limiting. Get flight following, and you aren't limited to 1400 AGL or less. Sometimes the C surface area is in the way as well.