Class 3 med High Cholesterol & Blood Press

U

Unregistered

I am a new pilot, just passed my check ride last Friday. During my last primary doc visit my cholesterol and blood pressure were high, he said come back in three months and we can check it again. If its still high we will need to think about meds.

Three months have passed and I am anticipating he wants to prescribe some meds. My questions is how do I handle this so that I can still fly? Are there certain medications I should request that the FAA is OK with? Will I need to follow up with my AME before filling any prescriptions?

Any advice is greatly appreciated!

BP is one thing, cholesterol is another.

Cholesterol meds and diagnoses seem to be a no-brainer. I've just told the AME about it, marked it on the form, and got on with my life.

BP is a different story, though, and someone with experience in that arena will have to help you.

There are a couple of databases out there that have the FAA approved meds, and I see that pilot dude posted one of them. The AOPA site may require a membership to see, though. Here's another one: http://www.leftseat.com/medcat1.htm

Wait for an AME to chime in on this thread - you'll get the expert answer then.

Oh, and congrats on the PP checkride, Captain!

Last edited:
I am a new pilot, just passed my check ride last Friday. During my last primary doc visit my cholesterol and blood pressure were high, he said come back in three months and we can check it again. If its still high we will need to think about meds.

Three months have passed and I am anticipating he wants to prescribe some meds. My questions is how do I handle this so that I can still fly? Are there certain medications I should request that the FAA is OK with? Will I need to follow up with my AME before filling any prescriptions?

Any advice is greatly appreciated!