Circling aircraft has me wondering.

leek1

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
leek1
delete

Last edited:
FBI T-182RG not unusual, but usually higher.

My first post! I have noticed a single engine light plane flying 4 minute circles around my neighborhood. Not a big deal except---------------------------------Its been going on for 3 weeks, 7 days a week , usually during the day and and sometimes at night. To add to the mystery, this activity is taking place in class B airspace---------so ATC knows the plane is there. I'm guessing the plane is about 2000 - 3000 AGL.

As a pilot, I look up often and use my ears to identify passing aircraft. for example, we have an Piaggio Avanti based out of the nearby airport. I can recognize those pusher props without even looking up. It was the subtle low noise of a recip engine in a jet neighborhood that first caught my attention. I spooted the plane and four minutes later I saw it again as it came around for another circuit. The plane does this for hours at a time and then disappears I guess to refuel and then return. I've listened to my scanner radio and hear no talk between the aircraft and ATC on approach or departure frequencies.

So why is this any of my business? Curosity, enquiring minds want to know. I have my hunches. Has any of you seen or heard of such or simialr activity. Should I get out my tinfoil hat?

delete

Last edited:
Law enforcement eye in the sky, local LEOs on speed patrol, traffic watch (TV or Radio), etc. :dunno: How late into the night do they go?

Last edited:
To answer some of the questions. Appears to be a high winged Cessna---------remember 2-3 k AGL. Location is DTW. Can you imagine the fuel used to do this.
Over the Class B surface area? Where exactly? (or approximately, don't give us your address) I live in the area and am a little curious about this...

Detroit...that says it all. Aerial surveillance.