Checkride passed- I'm a private Pilot!!!

jspilot

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
jspilot
Hi- I'm so pumped right now. I just passed my Private pilot checkride! I've heard it's good luck to share your checkride story and luck as a pilot can not hurt so here's my story.

My oral was yesterday at 400. The bad weather in the Northeast yesterday ment that I knew I would not be flying. I actually liked that as it let me focus on one part at a time. I went and it went really well. It was about 45 minutes and I was ready. The examiner and I agreed to meet today for the checkride at 330.

Today comes and the weather is not great again. Marginal VFR for most of the day and ceilings at 2800 throughout the area. I'm pretty sure the checkride is not going to happen and actually call my flight school at 100 to see if what's going on. I checeked the TAF's and it's not looking good so I called and cancelled. I'm really bummed now because I really wanted it behind me. 2:30 comes along and my phone rings. It's my flight school and they tell me that "the examiner is going up with another applicant and he says its good to go so do you want to come down for the ride?" My mind is racing as I drive towards the airport. Am I making the right choice???- ceilings are now 3300. Get to the airport and call the weather briefer. No updates really, ceilings still the same and calling for lower. While I was waiting for the previous guy to finish his checkride I've never looked outside and studied clouds more than I did then!