Changing Flight Schools: To, or not to.

MrAviator180

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
MrAviator
Well guys...

I've hit a big bump. I'm a student that just has 2 dual XC left before the ASEL checkride.

I recently overheard a conversation between the administrator of my current flight school and my CFI. They are raising the instructor rates (From $50 to $60) and this puts them behind the competition with the other flight school on the field. Current for a 1964 172 would be: ($135 airplane + $60 instructor) I'm a bit disappointed as it seems profit is the main reason for the raise (Began to discuss how many people would go flying with the weather improving coming out of the winter time)..

Just recently..I was reprimanded for just getting off school and finding out one of my destination airports was a no-go (winds 18 gusting 22). Therefore, I had to start over on flight planning (My 2nd XC ever). And I'll admit, I could use some more practice when it comes to flight planning (I'm a bit rusty, as getting my free public education gets a bit in the way).. So I ended up being 15 minutes late on departure... Which isn't bad for having to re-do the entire flight planning process. This "Current flight school" has older, not-so-well maintained (Things tend to always need changing... Or replacing).. I have a lot of great personal links and I think that's what will keep me here at the current flight school.. But I want to get some perspective.

The competition runs 1998 Cessna 172Rs and SPs. (133 an hour plus 50 for instructor) They are well maintained as far as I've heard. I have logged about 3 hours in the 172SPs and loved every second of it. But I have no connections there... Not do I want to burn any bridges down...

Any thoughts?

Last edited:
My advice? Unless concerns about maintenance safety is the issue, if you're so close bite the bullet, pay the high fees, and finish up. Curse under your breath. Then go to the competition.