Challenging lesson!

RalphInCA

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
RalphInCA
Had a very challenging lesson with my CFI today.

We were going to go from my home airport (CCB ) to John Wayne (SNA), but SNA was below marginal VFR, so at the last minute Rick (my CFI) told me to replan for VanNuys (VNY).

This threw me off balance because I had been planning all week to go to SNA.

So, quickly replanned and then preflighted the airplane.

Got into the air and contacted SoCal approach for flight following (a first for me). On the way had to talk with several controllers, climb and and descend for traffic and cloud clearance, but eventually got to VNY and landed. All things I have never done before.

Trip back was the same thing.

Learned a TON. Need to keep doing the challenging flights. Getting out of my comfort zone is definitely the way to learn fast.

Last edited:
Flight following is almost -- but not quite -- mandatory in Southern California airspace if you want to get anywhere near the Basin.

It's helpful in a lot of other cases, though.

I've two stories related to that. (1) Climbing out of Lake Tahoe in a 172 at 9000 -- which at that altitude in that airplane means Vy, period -- I got a traffic call for a Skylane at 6 o'clock at my altitude. While it's not impossible to see traffic on your six in a 172, the Skylane is some 40+ knots faster at that altitude and I really doubt I would have seen it. One would hope he would have seen me, but a 172 flying straight is not terribly easy to see from behind.