CFI Question

R

Richard M.

Posting here because I cannot post under the flight training section for some reason.

I just passed my ASEL commercial checkride and have 255 hours logged, instrument rated, tailwheel endorsed, etc. (I'm sure you guys have heard this a thousand times)

I'm starting to work on my initial CFI. I'm studying for the FOI and FIA written test, I have spin training scheduled for next Tuesday in a nice Decathlon and a friend who is willing to teach me to fly right seat for 10 hours or so starting in January.

I also have the opportunity to get my commercial glider add-on for cheap. I need cheap, I am very broke after the commercial, enough that I'm not sure I can swing the airplane CFI but I'm going to give it all she's got to get this finished up.

Would it be beneficial in any way to get the commercial glider add-on and do the initial CFI in gliders then add-on ASEL privilege? The glider club has a DPE on staff who can issue initial CFI tickets in gliders, he is available 4 days a week.

My current go-to instructor does not have the 2yr/200hr qualification to teach CFI applicants and at the other flight school I attend all of the CFI's are at 1300+ hours and applying for regional 121 gigs. Not a single one of them is interested in giving CFI training because they want flight time and sitting in a classroom all day does not interest them. Two or three of them will probably be moving on by March so there could be opportunities for me if I hustle and get this done.

The glider guys are extremely enthusiastic about having another glider CFI in the region, it even sounds like I could do some work as soon as I get the commercial add-on (probably unpaid work though). Not too mention they have a small fleet of 235hp Pawnee's I might be able to build some time in if I can get my total tailwheel time a little higher (insurance minimums require 300hrs tailwheel)