CFI liability

Richard

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Ack...city life
Not so hypothetical situation.

We're friends, I'm a commercially rated pilot with Pt 135 IFR mins. I'm current and proficient in the typical SE planes I fly. You know me to be diligent in systems and procedures.

You are ATP, hold current CFI, ex-121 CP and currently fly occassional charters in MU-2 or 400 series Cessna. For the last several years you have owned a 1980 Mooney 200 HP.

I just bought a plane new to me. Say, a 1980 Mooney 200 HP with digital IFR panel. I have little Mooney time and that was more than 12 months ago. However, in the last 6 months I've flown 400+ hours in complex, high performance.

The meat of it....

I wish to use you to help me develop a proficiency in my new plane. I have met your insurance requirements and have named you as additional pilot but not additionally insured. At all times I am PIC and occupy the left seat. Per your desire, this can involve formal proficiency flights with payment for your services or we can just work out some kind of informal agreement.

Would you be comfortable with the above? If not, why and what would it take in order for you to agree to the above?

Last edited:
Shouldn't this say, "You have met my insurance requirements" or are we doing it in my plane?
I was thinking the ATP will have some minimum ins requirement to be satisfied before they step foot in my new to me airplane. What that minimum is would be determined by that person ostensibly based on their comfort/experience. When I say requirement I mean personal requirement.

If they require one million smooth the deal is off.

I am sort of confused.

I will be the ATP pilot. You will be the new Mooney owner.

Are you asking me to provide instruction in MY Mooney, or YOUR Mooney?

If you are asking me to do it in MY Mooney, I am not going to provide you instruction in my plane because I am not insured for it.