CFI help

Darrell111

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Darrell111
Well im working on my getting my CFI rating and after some amount of studying i have notcied that their is A LOT to know and i am having a little trouble getting everything organized. In other words i am affraid im studying things i dont need for the CFI and also may be missing things that i will need.

So the question is..

Are there any couses out there such as the King that guide you in this process. In past experience the King courses only prepare you for the written but dont touch so much on what you will experience in the oral.

Any suggestions are appreciated..

Thanks
Darrell

I was tempted to suggest the CFI PTS but I don't think that's what Darrell is looking for.

The thing that organized my study was the lesson plans. I started with the Jepp Syllabus and worked them into my own lesson plans, with reading assignments. Lately I've been working more of the PTS into each lesson.

What does your instructor suggest?

Joe

You can learn it all here ;)

Seriously, there are some pretty good questions asked on these boards. Look at the initial post, see if you can answer the question. Could you do a ground or flight lesson on it? Read the other responses to see if you can prove what's right and weed out the BS. You'll also get a good idea for how a specific question relates to other areas (correlation, right?).

Take note of the way some people answer with references, too. If you can support what you're saying, it's always better.

In other words i am affraid im studying things i dont need for the CFI and also may be missing things that i will need.
Don't be afraid of knowing too much :)

Good luck!

David

Last edited:
Darrell111 said: