Cessna 170B, tight landing

motoadve

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
motoadve
Probably one of my most challenging landings, narrow approach with an S turn at slow speeds into a short gravel bar, was pretty exciting, I also show the safety precautions for this operations and examples of other landings, hope you enjoy.

Probably one of my most challenging landings, narrow approach with an S turn at slow speeds into a short gravel bar, was pretty exciting, I also show the safety precautions for this operations and examples of other landings, hope you enjoy.

In awe here . I'm a student in training on a 170. Off hours I "practice landings" with XBox MSFS (Carenado C170B model) and cannot avoid bounced landings (in real life either) yet you made this look so easy.

I am a flight simmer too, Carenado makes horrible flight models, good graphics onlt, I have their 170 and flies horrible.
In the real 170 To avoid bouncing, just come slower and add a bit of power to stop the sink rate prior to touch down.
Practice slow flight at altitude lots of it, that gives you a good feel for the plane.

I am a flight simmer too, Carenado makes horrible flight models, good graphics onlt, I have their 170 and flies horrible.
In the real 170 To avoid bouncing, just come slower and add a bit of power to stop the sink rate prior to touch down.
Practice slow flight at altitude lots of it, that gives you a good feel for the plane.
Are you using their 170 on the PC or XBox? There was a model update this year for the XBox 170. The XBox Carenado 170 feels/reacts very close to my flight school's 170 (a 1948 model but updated years ago with metal wings). I tried your throttling suggestion in my sim and that sure did help my landings; now to try it at my next lesson. Thanks!

I use PC, if you want the most realistic simulator try the warbirds in DCS, good practice for tailwheel, much better than any plane in MSFS.