CATCH22's

Germany 1978. Mannheim/Heidelberg

County where I am to work will issue a work permit as soon as the county where I am going to live issues a residence permit.

County where I am going to live will issue a residence permit as soon an the county where I am going to work issues a work permit.

Twice that really come to mind.

1) lived and worked in one state, then moved across state line but still worked in previous state. So I was a part year resident of both states. Each state tax form would let me deduct the taxes paid to the other state. Problem was, I couldn't calculate how much tax I paid to each state until I could complete the other states tax form.

2) Dealing with medical/dental insurance companies: Daughter needed a wisdom tooth removed by oral surgeon. Dental insurance didn't want to pay because an Oral Surgeon is an MD, so considered it a medical procedure. Medical didn't want to pay because they considered it a dental procedure. My HR lady at work was no help, she kept referring to the exclusions in the insurance contracts on page xxx. I asked, why don't I have a page xxx? She said I didn't have the full contract. I asked, why don't I have the full contract? She said she didn't hand any out because no one ever reads them anyway and it's just a waste of perfectly good trees.

Local County airport authority would not issue a operating lease for a building on the airport rented from the authority until you had a business license.

Local city business license office would not issue a business license unless you had a business address, which you could not prove without the lease from the county airport authority.

Twice that really come to mind.