Career Pilot.....Counting the cost

rtbayne01072

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
flyboy72
Ok so I know this post probably belongs in "Pilot Training" but I really wanted to get this out on this forum because I feel like more people look at this Forum, and I really want some opinions from people who have been in the aviation world for a bit. (hang with me its going to be a long post).

So I'm a college student, who is going to graduate the University of South Carolina in May with a physical Education degree. However I've always had a interest in flying my great grandfather flew in WW2 and me and my dad have been going to airshows and have shared an interest for aviation. So long story short flying is something I've always wanted to do.

So this past summer I finally acted on my passion and went on an introductory flight at my local FBO. I loved it I felt like the controlling the plane kinda came natural to me, and I decided to pursue my PPL. I've haven't be able to go up too much more since then between classes and money, but I have about 6.5 hours on my log now.

So here is my thought process, If I had it my way after I graduate I would go to a bigger flight School like aerosim or ATP and get all my ratings and try to pursue going to fly for the big boys (airline,freight or corporate).

Of Course I did my research and found out that it is a very expensive route and that there is no guarantees that I will get on with an airline (even a regional). I also will have student loans payments when i get out of college in may as well. If I could hold down some sort of part time job to so I can make loan payments this route might be possible but I doubt this will be possible.

So my thought process now is I will still Keep doing my training through my FBO and try to get a teaching job, and try to use my summers to dedicate to my flight training.

I would love flying for the airlines but I also wouldn't mind flying corporate as well.