Can the engine start in the opposite direction?

Hippike

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Hippike
I'm still a student pilot, so excuse my lack of knowledge or the silliness of the question, but I was wondering:
Props spin clockwise (when viewed from the cockpit) and they do so because they are designed that way and because the starter motor starts spinning it clockwise (and because somebody at the beginning of time decided so... But would it be possible to hand-prop an aircraft in the opposite direction? Ignore the fact that the prop blade is designed so it generates forward thrust when spinning clockwise, but would the engine actually start if I kept propping it counterclockwise?
What determines the rotation of the crankshaft? Pistons have no idea what phase of cycle they are in, all they see is up and down, in their view "up" is either compression or exhaust.
"Who" decides if the crankshaft turns left or right?

Absolutely not.. for several reasons
the fuel can not be introduced by the exhaust system.
The Mag can not produce a spark when rotated backwards.
Valve timing would be backward.

The engine designer.

Some diesel engines can be started in reverse, but no gas can. its all about induction and the gas engine must breath in one direction.

If you are flying an ultralight or something with a 2 stroke engine I believe that they can actually run in either direction. Some 2 stroke snowmobiles actually achieve reverse by stopping the engine and restarting it in the opposite direction. All with the push of a button.
This website has some cool engine animations.

I'm still a student pilot, so excuse my lack of knowledge or the silliness of the question, but I was wondering: