can pilots have BPD?

U

Unregistered

Turns out I may have borderline personality disorder. I have not been officially diagnosed, but I show most of the signs. I am a commercial pilot with around 550 hours. I'm afraid to mention this to my AME...can I still fly if I am diagnosed?

Figure this out off the books first, cash, use your judgement as to your risk.

If this is something that you and your professional feel needs to be officially diagnosed and/or medicated, have a word with a very good AME like Dr Bruce (search for him on here).

The FAA would apparently prefer pilots to run away from any kind of medical treatment until they drop dead.

Welcome to bureaucracy. ...

The FAA would apparently prefer pilots to run away from any kind of medical treatment until they drop dead.

Welcome to bureaucracy. ...

We also do live in a rather over medicated society.

Your not alone, most of us have some sort of personality disorder.

You made me look it up. Here's the description:

Borderline personality disorder (BPD) is a mental health condition in which a person has long-term patterns of unstable or turbulent emotions. These inner experiences often result in impulsive actions and chaotic relationships with other people.

I'm no psychologist, but this sounds like maybe a bad thing for a commercial pilot?

You made me look it up. Here's the description:

Borderline personality disorder (BPD) is a mental health condition in which a person has long-term patterns of unstable or turbulent emotions. These inner experiences often result in impulsive actions and chaotic relationships with other people.

I'm no psychologist, but this sounds like maybe a bad thing for a commercial pilot?

Guess they should prevent women from getting medicals too :rofl:

hell, that describes most of the older airline pilots I know. It almost seems a career of professional pyleting gives you BPD. LOL