Can my CFII sign my logbook even if I don't have a current medical certificate?

briscopilot

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
briscopilot
I'm a private pilot with over 500 hours on single engine aircraft. VFR only. Recently I could not pass the FAA medical exam. I've been flying a Cessna 172 Skyhawk with the CFII and previously (when I did have a valid medical certificate) I flew a 172 legally. My CFII told me that he couldn't sign off on flight hours. I am flying left seat and he is instructing me. Can he sign / initial my logbook as CFII? Where does the FAA regs cover this issue? If he can't per FAA regs then can I log the hours in my logbook that I fly with him legally? Please help.

:confused:

I would think he can, not sure why he didn't. I lost my medical for a while and was recieving dual while without a medical, but I was not pic.

I would think he can, not sure why he didn't. I lost my medical for a while and was recieving dual while without a medical, but I was not pic.

Same story. Nobody had any problem signing my log book when my medical was toast due to prostate cancer. He's acting PIC, you're logging PIC. Works fine.

I'm a private pilot with over 500 hours on single engine aircraft. VFR only. Recently I could not pass the FAA medical exam. I've been flying a Cessna 172 Skyhawk with the CFII and previously (when I did have a valid medical certificate) I flew a 172 legally. My CFII told me that he couldn't sign off on flight hours. I am flying left seat and he is instructing me. Can he sign / initial my logbook as CFII? Where does the FAA regs cover this issue? If he can't per FAA regs then can I log the hours in my logbook that I fly with him legally? Please help.

:confused:
He can always sign your logbook as dual given, whether you have a medical or even a pilot certificate. That's how student pilots get their hours! :)