C182 leaning and the EGT gauge

Bonchie

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
Bonchie
I'm new to a 182P and the POH says what I was always taught. Lean til rough, rich til smooth. I think it says one turn back in is best economy, two is best performance.

When I do that though, the EGT reads really high (CHTs are still well in the green). We've only got the old single probe with the "25*" divisions. It's got that fancy warning star above "400*" mark but to stay below it, you have to go many turns back in over the point where it gets rough. That means I'm nowhere near best economy according to the POH. So is it dangerous to use the POH's leaning method or is it safe to run higher EGTs in cruise?

I've tried to google answers for my specific circumstance, but they all seem to involve LOP operations and fuel injected engines.

What is really high?
You can only over lean if you are above 65% power (some say 75%). Look in the POH to see where that is. If you arent there, you just lean to roughness and richen to smooth. Look at the exhaust pipe when you land. There should be no black soot, just gray. And the spark plugs should not be black etc.

Over the 400 degree mark on the gauge with the star above it. I realize that's not the actual EGT temperature but what's the significance?

Following, since I fly a 182P and am curious about the answers

If this "new to you" 182 is your own personal plane I'd highly suggest a good engine monitor as a top priority. I put a JPI 830 in my Saratoga. No more guessing. Wouldn't fly without it.

I fly a Piper with a Lycoming, so my comments are general in nature, not specific to your plane or engine, but may be of some value for reference.