C175 flipped with pax holding 7 mo old baby in Utah

Good ending, anyway. The baby should have been left behind. No reason for the baby to be there, especially since there wasn't any room to belt in a baby seat.

Good ending, anyway. The baby should have been left behind. No reason for the baby to be there, especially since there wasn't any room to belt in a baby seat.

Infant in arms is legal on airliners, under the age of 2. Don't agree with it, but it is.

Infant in arms is legal on airliners, under the age of 2. Don't agree with it, but it is.

Yeah, I am not a lawyer. I couldn't speak to the legality of it, I can just see no purpose to putting a 7 month old at risk for a sight seeing flight, especially since he was not properly secured.

From another news article...

Lieutenant Brian Locke, with the Cache County Sheriff’s office said that cold weather appears to be the cause. “The plane started experiencing some icing in the carburetor,” said Locke. “When [the pilot] went to adjust the carburetor to de-ice it, he thinks that a lot of the ice just broke loose and the engine just cut off completely.” Locke added, “at that particular point he started looking for a place to land.”

Some good reading for carb guys and gals out there.

http://www.pilotfriend.com/training/flight_training/fxd_wing/carb_heat.htm

Weather around the time of the accident...

2:05 pm Sat Temp 25°, HUMIDITY: 78%, WIND: Calm, VISIBILITY: 7.0 mi, DEW POINT: 19°, PRESSURE: 30.46 in hg

Did the plane roll over slowly? I'm amazed (but relieved) that the baby didn't get rattled around the inside of the plane.