Buying a Hanger

AKBill

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
AKBill
So I have been renting a hanger from a neighbor for the last 4 months. I was to move out this weekend and called Norm to touch base. He said the hanger is for sale and he would not be home until next week, and to stay in the hanger till he got home. At that time we can move his C-172 back in the hanger. He has been parked in my tie down since I moved into his hanger. His 1966 C-172 is out of annual and has not been started in 5 years.

It's a "T" hanger, insulated and heated. "T" hangers in my area go from $65,000 to $85,000. The hanger is nice but has some issues. Mold showing on drywall, small roof leaks, and strangely enough water coming up from under the floor in a few spots.

I must say it has been nice having the plane in a hanger. Who does appraisal's on a property like a hanger?

Comments please.

Sounds like the hangar is out of annual.

Assess the price of the squawks and offer accordingly... Starting at low end of range.

Curious... What's a t hangar like that rent for?

Last edited:
Sounds like the hanger is out of annual.

Assess the price of the squawks and offer accordingly... Starting at low end of range.

Curious... What's a t hangar like that rent for?
I'm paying Norm $400 a month + letting him tie down in my spot $60 a month

Consider the availability and contents of the airport’s lease for the land it is on.

I would be very hesitant to go into one that is wicking water through the concrete, it will likely shift (mine heaves with the rains), it will be a corrosion favoring-environment.

Meaning? 65K is 1/4 the price of my house.
He was just ribbing you about misspelling "hangar". A "hanger" is something you hang things on. A "hangar" is something you store an airplane in. It is a pet peeve among many pilots.

Just some thoughts...