Business Use Question

dell30rb

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Ren
As a private pilot, I know I can fly myself to meetings etc... and be reimbursed for the cost.

Say I own an agricultural consulting business and a part of this business is snapping pics with an infrared camera from the air of my customer's farms, and providing them with an analysis.

Can my business legally reimburse me for the cost of these flights?

Only if you have a common purpose with yourself while making those flights.

As a private pilot, I know I can fly myself to meetings etc... and be reimbursed for the cost.

Say I own an agricultural consulting business and a part of this business is snapping pics with an infrared camera from the air of my customer's farms, and providing them with an analysis.

Can my business legally reimburse me for the cost of these flights?

Only if you have a common purpose with yourself while making those flights.

Ha, that's one way to put it.

I guess what I should really be asking is if the flights are incidental to the business. I think so because the pics are not the main service of the company. I should probably delete this thread before Ron comes and shoots down my dreams.

I'm about to get my commercial certificate but the real issue is that none of the aircraft I have access to are insured for commercial use. Though I can use them for personal business - subject to the limitations of the PPL

IRS test is whether the expenses are ordinary, necessary and reasonable. If you can make a case based on those criteria, you may be OK for Round #1 of the fight.

Bear in mind that the IRS tends to look at such expenses as "hobby losses" that are not deductible, especially if they are not incurred in connection with your normal trade or business activities and do not include a reasonable chance to make some money from their use. As with all such issues, the burden of proof is on you.

Ha, that's one way to put it.