Business registered Airplane

evapilotaz

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
Drone airspace abuser
I seen airplanes registered to businesses and these businesses are not even Aviation type businesses.
What is the reason to register an airplane to a business and not the actual airplane owner?

The reason I asked because I am now a business owner and wondering when I decide to purchase an airplane If I should register it to my business.

Using a corporation or an LLC provides a layer of information hiding. If there are multiple people operating the plane then a corporation may provide a small amount of liability protection. Of course, registering it to your business, makes your business liable to claims made on the operation on the aircraft and vice versa.

Taxes and privacy.

Mine is registered to a LLC with a PO box address and FAA source blocked tail number.

Keeps the government from stealing more of my hard earned money and keeps the busy body's away to a point.

*I should add the plane is always under 100hr inspections and I'm a ATP and work in the aviation industry, the plane does do some photography work and on occasion advanced training for folk$.

You've lost me. How does corporate (or LLC) ownership DECREASE taxes. Texas must be an odd state.

You've lost me. How does corporate (or LLC) ownership DECREASE taxes. Texas must be an odd state.

I'm not a tax attorney by any means, but here's my understanding.

Personal purchase:
Buy $1M plane
All money spent on plane is post tax, so you have to make $2M to buy the $1M plane (after taxes)
Pay $70k Sales/Use tax on plane
Most expensive way to buy a plane

Direct Business Purchase by your normal business:
Buy $1M plane
Depreciate business use of plane which makes business use amount "tax deductable".
Pay sales/use tax $70k
Any personal use is allowable but not deductible and you also have potential business liability and insurance issues.

Create separate LLC just for airplane:
Buy $1M plane