Building Your Own House

Don't forget to include the cost of a broken arm. Sigh.

I would just install a forced air furnace and the ductwork. Load cheaper than building a whole new house. And that 130 year-old house will still be here after the new one has rotted into ground.

We have forced heat and AC with a air to air heat pump now. We heat with wood to cut costs and it was good excersize. I don't have the time or motivation to cut wood after 15 years. I would rather be building RVs or flying.

This is what I do for a living, so I know a little about it. The most common mistake that I see with people who "build it themselves" is that they dont know what they are looking at. For instance, after your framing is done you need to look at EVERY stud in the walls, A bowed stud means a bowed wall. on the other hand, I have seen home owners lose their minds over cement that "wasnt finished properly" that was going to be covered with a mud bed. Also I find that the most expensive part of doing it yourself is just doing things in the right order. If you get ahead of yourself it will cost you in comebacks and do overs. And lastly, dont treat your subs as if you believe they are going to rip you off and do substandard work. If they do, fire them. Until then, be professional.

I built my house about 12 years ago. Huge amount of work and frustration. I might tackle it again, but I think I'd get more professional help the second time around. Big problems with contractors not showing up and trying to do substandard work.

That's one of the problems when the contractors know that you're not a builder and probably won't need their services again. They have very little motivation to do anything more than the minimum necessary to get paid.

Of course, there are plenty of good contractors which take pride in their work, but there are plenty of the other kind too.