Break-In Oil Change - Screen Cleaning?

Buck Rizvi

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
BoulderBuck
An A & P friend walked me through the first oil change (20 hours) of my newly overhauled Lycoming IO-540.

I have a Cherokee Six 300 service manual and it says I should pull and clean both the oil sump and the oil pressure screens during every oil change.

My friend said he didn't feel it was necessary and that he usually does these during an annual / 100 hours.

I said "OK," but I thought I would ask for opinions:

Should I always pull, inspect, and clean the oil screens at every oil change?

P.S. The oil pressure screen looks like a real bastard to get to.

P.P.S. I would like to do my own oil changes, but I'm not a mechanic.

Just change the oil and filter every 50hrs or when the oil looks dirty.

You do not need a mechanical rating to change oil and filters.

If you don't pull the screens, how will you know what they are removing from the oil?

I will be thoroughly inspecting the screen every oil change for the first couple hundred hours after my overhaul. After that I might be tempted to only do it every other time, unless after doing it a few times I learn to do it faster than I can now.

I’m not familiar with the 540. Does it have two screens and a filter, or only the screens? I can’t imagine not doing it if you don’t have a filter at all.

My opinion? Either you misunderstood your friend or you need to find a different mechanic to gather advice from.