Brain fart

judypilot

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Judy Parrish
Yesterday I flew out of Palo Alto, CA, and asked for flight following to Klamath Falls (my refueling stop on the way home) via SUNOL, an intersection that's a good place to aim for leaving the crazy airspace of the San Francisco Bay. Ground asked for the identifier for Klamath Falls, and I answered "Kilo, Lima, Mike......uh." Then I said, "I've been flying for 32 years and I can't remember the designation for 'T'". The controller said, "T". "Affirmative." Several seconds later, my brain recovered and I said "Tango."

Embarrassing, but then again, the controller didn't come back with "Tango", so maybe I wasn't the only one!

By the way, I was originally going to fly into Watsonville the day of that horrible mid-air. I didn't because yesterday I intended to leave early, and Watsonville had been socked in until later than I wanted to leave (it had cleared up by the time of the accident). Glad I didn't because if Watsonville even cleared yesterday, it wasn't until really late. Even Palo Alto didn't clear until about 1030.

Yesterday I was IFR and Memphis center was having a hard time coming through. I thought I was gonna have to go lost comms. They were coming in broken but I could barely hear them and they couldn't hear me. Finally they heard me and asked how they sounded...I said..."I hear you but you sound not good." Seconds go by and I hear them say. "So we sound BROKEN?". Um yes broken it is. Hahaha I knew broken was correct but couldn't say it.

and I answered "Kilo, Lima, Mike......uh."
I have heard a number of controllers say, "Please don't include that first KILO when giving us an identifier." (I once actually got complimented for not using it. No big deal - I learned before GPS and never picked up the habit.)

If I understand correctly, the way their systems work, it leads to errors or the need for repeated input. I suspect they know the airport is in the lower 48 without it.