Bombed the Cogscreen. Do I have a path forward?

A

Anonymous

Hey everyone, I’ve been working with my AME for several months to get past a childhood ADHD diagnosis. We haven’t sent anything to the FAA yet, as we wanted to get everything in order prior to submittal. Anyway, the time came to take the test and I just bombed.. no excuses. My neuropsych said he was surprised based on his interactions with me, but I was in the bottom 10% overall. My AME is on vacation for two weeks and I can’t get in touch with him. Does anyone have experience with a poor Cogscreen evaluation? Is there even a path forward?

We're assuming you have an active medical certificate application that initiated the cog screen?

Was there anything unusual about the circumstances that caused the low score? Stress, lack of sleep, sickness, etc? Because at the very least I would think you'll have to do it again and get a satisfactory score....

I'm no PhD, but bottom 10% seems like you'd be having way more daily life issues than a childhood ADHD diagnosis would suggest. If you do retry, I'd probably go to another psychologist.

Was there anything unusual about the circumstances that caused the low score? Stress, lack of sleep, sickness, etc? Because at the very least I would think you'll have to do it again and get a satisfactory score....

I'm no PhD, but bottom 10% seems like you'd be having way more daily life issues than a childhood ADHD diagnosis would suggest. If you do retry, I'd probably go to another psychologist.

Not that it’s and excuse, but I was very sleep deprived. I woke up early and had to drive three hours to take the test. I am a project manager professionally and have no issues in daily life.

We're assuming you have an active medical certificate application that initiated the cog screen?

I don’t have an active medical certificate. My AME wanted to get this done prior to submittal.