BFR?

giaviv

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
giaviv
hey folks,

i have an american ppl and plan on flying in canada (i will be in toronto for the summer). i did some research and all i need is a validation that grants me a canadian certificate based on my american one.. except..

the problem is that i am not current - my last bfr was good till october 2010.
therefore, 1+1=my american ppl isn't valid, hence i can't get the validation?
what do you suggest i do? i wont be in the states till after my visit in canada unfortunately. should i look for an american instructor in canada? will that be my only option OR will the checkout at the canadian flight school be enough?

i am a little confused. thanks in advance!

Well I am an Australian pilot in the USA and can tell you what happened to me.

I have an FAA license, based on my Australian privileges. As long as I am current in flight review and medical, I can fly in the US.

My Australian medical expired so I just got a medical here in the US.. The FAA accepted that and adjusted my license; no issue.

However, when my flight review period expired, all I could do to fly solo was to have an instructor signoff (almost like turning my Australian license into a student license)

So I would say in your case for Canada, no... you won't be able to fly on your FAA privileges unless you complete a flight review. (You may have some options if it only recently expired, to do some of the wings program or whatever it is called in the FAA/AOPA safety institute type programs, which extends your flight review period as you complete the levels)

Best bet is to get to US soil and do the flight review.

Only other option would be to fly with an instructor in Canada.

tl;dr, you need to pass a flight review on US soil with a US certified instructor.

Why two posts from the same OP asking the same question in a different manner?

@OzPilot - thank you for your comment.