Best way to do multi work at low hours

Ted

The pilot formerly known as Twin Engine Ted
Display Name

Display name:
iFlyNothing
I think this makes post #8, but I'm still mostly lurking, as Missa kindly pointed out. :)

I'm a low-time student, currently at 12.2 hours total since September 8th of this year. I had my first solo last Thursday (10.7 hours) and my instructor says he is going to sign me off for unlimited solo within 25 nm of my local airport next week. My second cross country should be this weekend (first one was lesson #2 with 1 hour of real IFR, but that was actually because I needed to pick up my fiancee, so it wouldn't have been a normal lesson). Anyways, I'm moving along, trying to move along at a good pace and want to be able to build up my hours and ratings.

The multi-engine is a big thing for me. I've been looking primarily at 310s and Aztecs. The 310 has the biggest appeal to me, as I see it as being a good size and having a good payload for what I intend on doing with it. Obviously at this point, I've got quite a number of hours left just to get my ratings between finishing up my PPL and doing my IFR. So, I have been toying around with the idea of buying a cheaper, rougher multi. Let's assume I'm looking at a 310 for the moment.

Well, a friend of mine is selling a '69 310Q at a good price in very nice condition. It has a few things that concern me slightly, but we are in talks for the moment. I haven't seen the plane in person yet, just pictures. In looking around, however, it appears to be impossible for me to get insurance with any conditions. I've only talked with AOPA and Avenco, but they both said the same thing - absolute minimum of 200 hours and PPL, period.