Best video cameras for aviation?

Rykymus

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
Rykymus
Here's the deal. I've been using a GoPro for the last 3 years. I have it mounted in my Archer, hanging from the ceiling, just behind the front seats. Pretty good view, and works well for reviewing my flights, as I can see the instruments well enough to see what was going on. (Barely) It was a great learning tool for both PPL and IR training. However, my wife has always complained that all we ever see is the one static view. She wants to see more.

Now that I'm in the phase of "becoming proficient on my own" after instrument training, (got my IR ticket Nov 10), I want to up my game a bit. I'm even thinking of posting videos of IFR flights (both real and ones that are just for increasing/maintaining proficiency) on YouTube, and including a post-debrief, where I describe what I felt I did well, and what I learned from the flight. (And of course, invite others to critique and make suggestions on how to improve.) But to do so, I need more cameras. I have some ideas on where I want to mount them and what I want them to point at, but I imagine that over time, I'll make adjustments and changes.

I'm thinking about 4 camera's overall, with one of them connected to comms, and another picking up internal sound from built-in mic. (The others don't really need sound.) I'd like them to be as small as possible, while still providing good video quality. Although the GoPro has worked okay, it ain't the best. (I've had issues with it that can't be explained.) I was looking at some of the Garmin Virbe cameras, of which many look to be more compact.

Just wondering what advice you all might have for me?

I use my S7 camera. 4k with AMOLED display makes watching them back on the device enjoyable and with unlimited storage since Samsung let's you use SD cards it's hard to beat. I can make phone calls with it too.