Best San Francisco Airport?

VWGhiaBob

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
VWGhiaBob
I think I saw a post about this a couple of months back, but can't find it now. Feel free to send me a link.

I'm a VFR pilot and want to go to San Francisco Bay Area this coming 4th of July weekend. I'm trying to decide where to fly in. Criteria:

Most important:
Reasonably clear of chronic fog areas

Important:
Near BART or reasonably easy to rent a car on the airport property

Oakland sounds great, but I hear the fog is a big issue. Hayward? Concord?

I learned to fly at KPAO, but not much there in the way of transportation.

Am I missing any good options?

Oakland and Hayward have pretty much the same situation in as far as weather and proximity to BART. Oakland I would say has the slight edge on the weather. The marine layer clears there first and forms last. Right now there is no issue in the bay with marine layers. It is all VMC, but of course I guess that could change.

If you are really worried about overcast, then I would likely pick Livermore. Concord might be OK too, but I think it covers over before Livermore does. Both of these locations you are best off with a rental car.

Given the weather we've been having, and your destination being SF, I would plan for Oakland. Park at Landmark and they can give you a ride to BART. Even if we do get a marine layer, you should able to get in, or out between the hours of 11am and 4pm. Also controllers hear have always been kind to me with special VFRs.

Have fun!

2 major considerations:

Think noon-ish
Think "other than June" -- better yet, consider September